Wahroonga Park Playground 

Wahroonga Park Playground is awesome. Awesome. I rate it as one of my top two North Shore playgrounds so far (the other being Flying Fox playground in Mona Vale). It is set in a beautiful park and has all sorts of playground equipment. 

The address on my GPS and the quick internet search I did showed Millewa Avenue but you could put in any of the streets that borders the park as they all have parking: Stuart Street, Illoura Avenue, Coonanbarra Road. In fact I wouldn’t aim for Millewa as its parking isn’t great as its the road that borders the train station.

   
The park itself is located nearest to the Stuart Street / Coonanbarra Road intersection as shown on the aerial photograph below. 

  
The one problem with the park is that the toilets are at the top end of the park closer to Illoura Avenue than the playground but at least they cater for families with a large bathroom that has a smaller loo and a change table.
The playground is just lovely and is very popular which you can easily guess at with how many Facebook groups and websites it appears on. I think the allure is how many different things there are to play on, that the playground is enclosed, the benches for weary moms and that there is a coffee shop right across the road (again for those weary moms 🙂 ). 

Included in the set up is:

  
– metal balls you step on to make musical notes (or if you have a 3 year old male – an earsplitting cacophony)

   
   
– climbing frames with ropes and ladders

– slides for big and little kids 

   
 – see-saw and roundabout type things 

– swings (although most of the bigger-kid swings are outside of the enclosed area) 

   
– a giant wooden train to drive, ride on or crawl through (the above picture doesn’t do it justice as this is just the engine part of the train – there are carriages too) (yes I know my trains, I’ve watched my fair share of Thomas the Tank Engine).

  
– one of the above things that I have absolutely no idea what they are called but look like immense fun for older kids.

It would be remis of me not to mention that there is a bubbler (oh how my 3 year old loves a drinking fountain) and the wood chips under the bigger jungle gyms (oh how my 1 year old loves playing in wood chips). 

There is space in the playground to have your morning tea but there is not much grass in the playground area, for that you would need to go outside into the park. The park is lovely and very well maintained so it’s worth having a look around or laze in while there. 

   
 While the park doesn’t have a dedicated trike track there are walking paths that seem suitable for trikes and scooters. 

I didn’t get a chance to sample the coffee from across the road but as I loved this playground and feel so calm walking through the park, even after the chaos of the playground, we will be back and then I’ll let you know about the coffee. 

Leave a Reply

